Nominations open for 2011 GPET awards

THE search is on again for the GPET/Medical Observer Registrar and Supervisor of the Year.

Nominations for the 2011 GPET Awards are now open, and organisers are expecting a record number of entries across seven categories.

The awards are a celebration of outstanding achievement and excellence in GP training.

Last year’s Registrar of the Year, Dr Allison Turnock, earned her accolade through her involvement in a major review of RTP General Practice Training Tasmania and for her efforts encouraging her registrar peers to pay more attention to their own health.

The Supervisor of the Year, Dr Debbie Kors, won her award through her commitment to teaching. Dr Kors was recognised for her involvement as a lecturer at the UNSW Rural Clinical School, medical educator for North Coast GP Training and board member of Hastings Macleay GP Network. 

Dr Kors will this year be on hand to judge some of the awards.