Shock mass departure of NEHTA leads

The shock exodus, which included the man seen as the figurehead of the personally controlled e-health record (PCEHR), Dr Mukesh Haikerwal, prompted the AMA to question the amount of clinical input involved in the $1 billion reform.

The resignations also included RACGP e-health standing committee members Dr John Bennett and Dr Nathan Pinskier, as well as Dr Jenny Bartlett and Melbourne GP Dr Chris Pearce.

Dr Haikerwal, a former AMA president who led NEHTA since 2007,