Primary Health Network boundaries announced

A series of maps quietly uploaded to the health department's website today show the 17 Medicare Locals in NSW will be replaced with nine larger Primary Health Networks, and the 17 MLs in Victoria will drop to six PHNs.

WA will have three PHNs (down from eight) and South Australia will have two (from five). Tasmania, the Northern Territory and the ACT will retain a single zone each.

In Queensland, the door has been left open for the state’s largest PHN, Western Queensland, to be combined with one of three adjacent PHNs in the tender process.

Medicare Local executives, who learned of