Rural Medicine Awards nominations open

Everyone working in rural and remote medicine knows someone who deserves special recognition for their skills, service and dedication. The Rural Medicine Awards provide an opportunity for those people to receive that recognition. 

Nominations for the awards are now open, and doctors are able to nominate their colleagues in one of seven categories, including life fellowship, honorary membership, distinguished service, commitment to community, and registrar and student of the year.

Last year’s winners included Dr Pieter Willem Mourik, whose decades of service as a rural GP and obstetrician earned him the RDAA Rural Doctor of the Year award, along with Dr Lindsay Sheriff who received the Peter Graham ‘Cohuna’ Award for his service to both Victorian and African communities.

RDAA chief executive officer Jenny Johnson said the awards were about highlighting the contributions of rural doctors. Awards were handed out to deserving