Epilepsy expert honoured

A prize-winning epilepsy specialist has been elected to Australia’s peak science body.

Professor Sam Berkovic, winner of the 2014 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, is one of 16 scientists to join the Council of the Australian Academy of Science this year for a three-year term.

Prof Berkovic (pictured) is Laureate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Melbourne and is also