Free HIV medicines now offered in all but two states

From 1 October, only Victorian and Tasmanian patients will face co-payments for HIV medications.
Sarah Simpkins
Alexis Apostolellis.

Victoria and Tasmania are now the only states where co-payments for HIV antiretrovirals remain after the Queensland Government announced it would waive fees from 1 October, including for patients without Medicare.

Queensland patients with Medicare typically pay a $30 co-payment for a 60-day supply of medications, such as the fixed-dose combination drug Triumeq (abacavir/dolutegravir/lamivudine).